I get mixed responses from my posts here on facebook. Some people love them and tell me to please continue, a few get angry while others say absolutely nothing. I guess that is a good balance.

My facebook friends are also quite diverse. There are people that I grew up with, family members, former neighbors, people I went to school with from grade school through high school, people who I have worked with in Pennsylvania, People I have worked with here in Orlando, many are from sports especially weightlifting /bodybuilding/powerlifting and a whole bunch are from network marketing going back to 1975. I love staying in touch with everyone.

So as to put everyone on the same page, I thought I would give a quick overview of my background and what motivates me to do what I do.

When I get involved with something I think that everyone and their brother needs it too. For example when I got in to weight training and physical culture  in 1964, I told everyone that they should lift weights and take nutritional supplements. It didn’t matter if they were male, female, young or old.

People thought I was crazy! Some people got into it, many are still in to it today and thank me for my “overzealessness” as they called it back then. Funny thing though. When I go into the gym I see everybody lifting weights these days, male, female, young and old. So I guess I was on the right path.

In the 1970’s I got into competitive powerlifting. over a 5 year period I competed in 100 competitions, won 80 first places including the YMCA Nationals, was twice North American AAU champion, won 30 best lifter awards broke a slew of state and national powerlifting records, broke the world meet recrod in the bench press at the World Powerlifitng Championships in 1973, broke the North American AAU record in the benchs press in 1974 and again in 1975 and at one point was ranked among the top three in the world in my weight class. (165 lb class, June 1974 at the AAU PA State Championships.)

Around the same time I got into promoting powerlifting and bodybuilding events and I brought the biggest names in the game to my little town in Berwick,Pa. population of around 9,000.   When I say largest i am serious  —like 6’5 275 lb Lou Ferrigno who of course went on to play THE Incredible Hulk on tv and when I say the best I mean the former governor Arnold Schwarzenneggar who went on to  become one of the biggest box office draws and a best selling author not to mention 5 time Mr. Universe and 7 time Mr. Olympia PLUS stars like Serge Nubret and many other Mr. America and Mr. Universe/Mr Olympia winners of that era.

People said that Berwick was too small of an area to support major events like these. Guess again. The event with Arnold had the largest audience ever seen in any bodybuilding contest in Pennsylvania.

When I was competing in powerlifitng meets, I found a secret weapon. While others were using dangerous anabolic steriods, I was using high quality nutritional supplements. To drop my weight quickly I would go on a high protein program with additional supplements. I could drop 20 lbs in 2 weeks and not lose any strength. This was unheard of and claimed to be impossible even by the steriod users. Yeah, that’s why I called it my “secret weapon.” And it worked everytime.

The steriod addicts thought that I was on some secret steriod that they didn’t know about. Result? I won 80 first places, was ranked third in the world in my weight class and broke the world meet record in the bench press.

This is not to brag but only to tell you what motivates me and why I am so excited about nutritonal products and believe n them so strongly. They have worked for me. I have walked the walk and not doing this to make a fast buck. It’s my passion. At least the products I have used delivered on their promises.

In 1975 I discovered network marketing. TO SOME people that is a bad two words.

For me it was as exciting as weight training was to me in the 1960’s, only in a different way. At the time I was working as a Radiology Transporter making about $250 a week in 1976 $$$ and driving a 4 year old Ford Pinto. A few months later I was generating $7,000 in monthly sales and driving a Lincoln Continental Mark V.  But by far the most significant benefit was the results that clients got from using that product. It was astounding. People tell me it changed their lives. And those who got into the business found anywhere from a few extra hundred to a couple of thosand extra each month to play with. Remember this was in the 70’s during the Carter days and a wicked recession.

In 1976 I was introduced to the first Hi Protein Meal Replacement weight loss program, a product called SLENDER NOW. Since I was no longer training regularly or competing, I had gained a fast 30 lbs of blubber. I lost those 30 lbs in record time and with little exercise. I started telling others about it and they got the same or similiar results; rapid and safe weight loss, increased self esteem, dramatic changes. So anybody who came within 2 feet of me heard about it as well as the business opportunity.

Around that same time there was a dangerous fad diet called Liquid Protein. I warned people about this gimmicky diet and even wrote an article about it in my local newspaper. Promoters of this junk were furious at me. They said I was attacking their product because it was competition for the Slender Now products I used myself and promoted. I issued a challenge and asked the promoters if they actually used the liquid protein product and suggested a weight loss contest putting our users vs theirs and people could judge not only who lost the most weight and inches but more importantly, who looked healthier and better. They refused. BUT……2 months later the government issued a recall on the Fad Liquid Protein Diet. Over 1000 people died from using that junk….the liquid protein fad diet.  Any diet program that restricts you to only 330 calories a day as the liquid protein diet did for an extended period of time is extremely dangrous. And it was.

I am totally opposed to any kind of gimmicky or fad diet plans. If it hasn’t worked for me and if I see anything wrong with it, I won’t market it irregardless how much money is supposedly being made by the promoters.

In the 1980’s I warned about The Cambridge Diet too. Another fad diet that was a lot like liquid protein, dangerous and caused numerous deaths.

In the 1990’s I WARNED about the fat burner products that contained ephedra and ma huang. Again the promoters were furious at me. How many people died from using that junk?

Like I said, I am against fad and dangerous diets, pills and other junk as well as  get rich quick schemes and scams. It bothers me when I hear that some people have been creamed, steamed and dry cleaned by some fast talking promoter. And it bothers me even more when people think that all programs are the same.

On December 21, 2009, I was hit with a mx missile of sorts in the form of a Myo Carditis attack. Myo Cardis is a viris that enters the heart and it can be and has been known to be lethal. I had congestive heart failure and nearly went into cardiac arrest. At the same time I was diagnosed as having a tumor on my left kidney. WHAT? How could this happen to me? I never smoked, drink moderately, take supplements, was working out and watch my diet. Well for one thing, my diet was more than just a little loose. The supplements I was taking were from the retail store shelf, not the best quality. I went against my own advice and opted for cheaper products  so as to be able to put money in my compaines 401 (k) plan. This almost killed me! The supplements were sheap for a reason. Low quality.  And cancer and heart disease runs on both sides of my family.

My surgeon tells me that I was too weak for surgery from the Myo Cardiits. That my heart would never hold up. He said that we needed to wait at least 4-6 months for me to rest and hopefully be recovered by then, but even then there would be a 50-50 chance of my surviving surgery.

I said “How about three weeks?’ He said impossible. So I said, “How about if I come back in three weeks, you put me through a battery of tests and then let the tests determine if I am ready?” He said ok but again said it was

“Impossible.” And then he said, “You are not thinking of exercising I hope! The theory that exercise can strengthen a weak heart is a myth. And in your present condition, exercise can do more harm than good. ”  I said, Yeah right!

The day I was released from the hospital I went right to the health food store and loaded up on supplements like Co-enzyme Q10, Fish oil, high potency Vitmain E, Alpha Lipoic Acid and in particular some super supplements Zavita, Trimbolic, 8RX and Cardio 1st.  I also followed the Suddenly Slim weight Loss program. My doctor told me I need to lose weight. I also started a exercise program first day out of the hospital. That included a massive 5 mins of walking very slowly on a treadmill on a flat surface and going for short walks. I was wasted.

zavita

trimbolic

8rx

cardio1st

 The myo carditis caused congestive heart failure fo me. I nearly died. And was in bad shape.  Ask anyone who has had cardiac issues. Recovery is slow and painful. And it was for me, at first. I remember walking out of church holding my chest and having breathing issues. It would be a long road back. Maybe I overloaded my promises this time and opened my big mouth too soon. But I was facing a time table challenge. I had to get better fast to be ready for surgery so continued with the exercise and nutritional program and by the way prayed a lot.

I started to feel a lot better.

Three weeks later I show up in his office. He sends me over to the hospital. I get MRI, Cardiac Catherization, EKG some ultra sound and other tests. He comnes back while I am enjoying that delicious hospital food (yuck!!!) takes his glasses off, rubs his face and then smiles at me and says, “I have never seen such a remarkable change in someone in the condition you were in a few weeks ago in any time period let alone three weeks. This is remarkable and I am prepared to clear you for surgery as soon as you like.”

What did I do? To recap,  I went on quality nutritional supplements, started a very mild exercise program (started walking about 10 feet and walking slowling on a treadmill for 5 minutes and I was wasted and then added on from that), within 2 weeks I was up to 20 minutes on the treadmill, had increased the speed and was walking a mile out doors everyday and something else: I prayed a lot. I was on a leave of absense from work so visited my church everyday. This was a must do event. I had to get my heart healthy again for surgery or that blasted tumor would grow and then I would be looking at chemo therapy and there was a strong possibility that I would not recover. My doctor told me that the tumor would quickly spread from my kidney to my lungs and then spread like wildfire th roughout my body.

With those kinds of odds I can get very motivated and do what some people think is “Impossible.”

Losing a kidney is not a huge deal, you can live on a 1/4 of one kidney, my issue was my heart which had taken a beating from the Myo Carditis and congestive heart failure. My Doctor told me that very few people survive congestive heart failure and that of those who do, many are not around a  year later or are very weak, almost invalids. I was determined not to be one of those statistics.

So I survived that. A few months later I am sitting at a red light in my car and get rear ended by a 19 year old driving a SUV. I was driving a Nissan Maxima, pretty heavy car. It was totaled and I ended up with heriated discs in my neck and lower back and a torn knee pad in my right knee plus bulging discs in both my neck and lower back.

Exercise was impossibe and even walking was difficult. By May of this year my weight had balooned up to 255 lbs of pure blubber. And I am only 5’4. So that is a lot of blubber on a small guy! I started having pains in my chest again along with breathing problems and a lot of pain walking. My knee especially was killing me. I couldn’t even walk my dog, my wife had to. And I was experiencing pain in my neck and lower back. Of the 8 discs in my neck, five were herniated and the other three were bulging. Same with my lower back.

At this point I was both mad and frustrated. Prior to the accident I had dropped my weight, was working out and feeling pretty good after the Myo Carditis. Now I had regained all the weight I lose and was having heath isssues again.

Several people began telling me about First Fitness. I said “No way, no how. Been there done that deal before  I couldn’t help but notice that these people had all lost a considerable amount of weight since I last saw them.

I went to church and saw somebody with a bumper sticker on her car. It said, “Get Suddenly Slim, ask me how?” That was a no brainer. I knew what company uses that saying.

Long story made short I decided to get back on First Fitness Products again. . On Sept 2, 2015, I began using the quick start program. I lost 5 lbs in three days and over 20 lbs in a month. Within days the aches and pains in my neck, back and knee went away.

In July, I felt good enough to start going to the gym again. The treadmill and lifecycle were a real challenge due to my right knee injury. I could barely last 10 minutes on each.

This week I am up to 45 minutes on the treadmill and 30 -60 minutes on the lifecycle.

I am especially proud of the fact that I can now set the treadmill at a speed and and incline that I have not used since before my Myo Carditis attack nearly 2 years ago! I am also pumping some serious iron again. And two days ago for the first time since the accident, I can use weight resistance for leg exercises like leg extensions and leg presses without pain.

Jeesh Tony. What are you doing writing a book? I know that’s a lot of writing there. No, not a book. Just telling my story and why I do what I do. Hopefully you may find something in it and understand why I do what I do.

By the way,  my weight hit 192 lbs. by Christmas 2015 Down from 255 lbs last Sept. I never suggest anything that I don’t use myself.

Since getting into First Fitness, I’ve been hearing from all sorts of people trying to get me into their “deal” and why it’s the best thing going.

Consequently, I do post updates on how I am doing with the business as well as with my weight loss and fitness. Some people cautioned me, “That ole dog don’t hunt anymore.” ENT! Guess again guys. In terms of network marketing companies, First Fitness is the best thing going. That is why I passed on the others and still say no to the other offers. I wanted to be a part of a company that is solid, time tested, clean and had proven products and a proven marketing system that worked for everyone.  AND…still has a career opportunity and growth potential..

Owing to my health problems, I wanted to be sure that whatever products I used were the absolute best quality available and safe for everyone who used them. And for a long time I have been looking for a weight loss product that delivered like Slender Now did back in the 1970’s. I’ve found it with First Fitness.

We also have a very powerful medical and scientific advisory board, second to none. One of our members is a noble laureate.  If  you are putting products into your system, you have beeter be sure that they were developed by people who know what they are doing. Many companies scrap together products and then test market them on the public. Not all network marketing companies are good.

I was also looking for a company that had good leadership. The CEO of First Fitness created a comapny in the 1970s that went from 0 to over $300 million in sales in under 3 years. In all the years that I have been in network marketing and with other companies,  I have bever seen a better leader.

Some people confuse First Fitness with other MLM companies.  This is a new and different puppy. The products  and marketing plan have been revamped. The shakes now come in 2 different flavors and are delicious. Our weight loss plan is a complete program providing all the nutrition you need everyday and includes four formulas. Most of the products have been reformulated and are now new and improved. I am especially impressed with the changes and improvement in quick start weight loss program.  The shakes, Trimbolic Biomega, Zavita and Energy drink products make a great substitute for cofee and soda. In fact I  have many people who have kicked the coffee, iced tea and soda habits.

Many companies offer just a shake or diet drink or something that curbs the appetite so you eat less. In my mind, these type of products fall into the same category as the liquid protein and other fad diets of old.  Be careful!

A few years ago, First Fitness came out with a product called Cardio First and 8RX. I sincerely believe that these two products played an integral role in my rapis recovery.  and it is the buzz of the industry. First Fitness launched a sports nutriional line which is absolutely incredible.  And First Fitness has a complete line of Herbal nutrtiional products that are state of the art.  Since starting on the products 18 months ago, I have never felt better.

So hopefully this will tell you why I do what I do regarding the weight loss and nutrition as well as the business opportunity. I’ve been weak and gained strength, comeback from serious illnesses, won championships and overcome insurmountable challenges. And I know that these are difficult days for a lot of people.  I’m 60 years old and never have I seen so  many people as frustrated as they are right now. Even those who are doing good are not doing as well as they were doing  sometime ago and are scared about their future. I’m here to tell you that there is another way. There is hope if you’ll just reachout and embrace it. That’s the real purpose of what I do and why I do it.

By the way, I have also  never seen so many people so excited as I have here in First Fitness. What makes us different?

I hope this was helpful to you.

Thank you.

Tony DeFrancisco

Leave a Reply

